Parplegia

If a mismanaged toe injury can be worth $11.5 million, what about paraplegia?  A suburban Baltimore jury recently awarded $3.5 million to a 53-year-old woman whose legs became paralyzed following vascular surgery.   So, a bum toe is worth more than three times the ability to walk?  Let’s look at the facts more closely and see whether they make any sense.

According to the newspaper account, doctors used an improper grafting technique that caused bleeding and consequent damage to Victoria Little’s spinal cord.  She walked into the hospital wearing high heels, but never walked again after the surgery.  The jury awarded $200,000 for the medical bills already incurred, $2 million for future medical bills and $1.3 million for pain and suffering.  The jury apparently gave Ms. Little nothing for lost wages.   Compare this jury to O. J. McDuffie’s, which awarded $10 million for lost wages and $1.5 million for pain and suffering to the highly paid NFL star in the toe-injury case.  Perhaps Ms. Little was unemployed before her surgery.

Lawyers call damages that can be precisely calculated, e.g., lost wages or medical bills, “special damages.”  Damages that are left up to the so-called enlightened conscience of the jury, e.g., pain and suffering, are called “general damages.”  In Little’s case, the general damage award represented nearly 60% of her special damages (1.3/2.2) but only 15% of McDuffie’s special damages.    Viewed this way, I could argue that Little’s jury was more sympathetic to her pain than McDuffie’s jury.  Being paralyzed ought to be compensated more than being forced out of a career.

Tort reform is so easy to trumpet as a way to fix health care until you consider someone in wheelchair who should still be able to walk.  I have my own ideas about how health care costs could be brought into line, but it has nothing to do with jettisoning the tort system.

About Public Protection Lawyer

lawyer and physician
This entry was posted in Medical Malpractice. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Parplegia

  1. Pingback: I need a medical malpractice lawyer who will listen in the state of Arkansas!? | All Injury Lawyer

  2. Pingback: Car wreck, dealing with insurance company, what to do now? | free-personal-injury-lawyer

  3. lady gaga telephone lyrics says:

    Great article, hey I came across this article while surfing for popular lyrics. Thanks for sharing I’ll email my friends about this too.

  4. travel packing tips says:

    I was actually looking for this resource a few weeks back. Thanks for sharing with us your wisdom.This will absolutely going to help me in my projects .

  5. Addison Miller says:

    Hello Looking for information on private health insurance led me your blog,
    I guess I now need to narrow down some costs before making my choice medical insurance thank you for this blog

  6. Tammi Maydew says:

    hey,I obtain that your blog is quite informative and helpful and we were curious if there is really a possibility of obtaining More stories like this on your weblog. If you willing to assist us out, we will be willing to compensate you… Best wishes, Tammi Maydew

  7. Yulanda Teuscher says:

    I was just having a conversation over this I am glad I came across this it cleared some of the questions I had.

  8. Erika says:

    This Blog is very nice.

  9. Sigrid Tirpak says:

    I’ve been checking your blog for a while now, seems like everyday I learn something new 🙂 Thanks

  10. low cost auto insurance says:

    hello it is my first comment on this website and at first I would like to thank for the great information, which I found in this and all previous posts , it really helped me very much. I will definitely add this blog on my rss reader Also, I would like to ask – don’t you mind if I will quate some information from your website because I am writing articles for the Hub pages, Ezine and other articles directories (this is my part time job)? It would really help me with some of mine articles. Of course, I will mention your website name or URL (not all articles directories allows URL’s , so I can’t 100% promise that you will get a direct backlink to your website).

  11. shanghai world expo guide says:

    Hei, I like this blog, many good information, I want to subscribe it, can anyone help me?

Leave a Reply

